Why Won’T My IPhone Backup When I Have Enough Storage?

Can I use my iPhone while it’s backing up?

Yes.

If you are doing an automatic backup, the screen has to be locked.

Make sure that iCloud Backup is turned on in Settings > [your name] > iCloud > iCloud Backup.

If you’re using iOS 10.2 or earlier, go to Settings > iCloud > Backup..

How do I delete things from iCloud to free up space?

You can also delete the files you have stored in iCloud Drive to free up iCloud storage. Go to Settings> Apple ID> iCloud> Manage Storage> iCloud Drive. You will see all the files stored in iCloud Drive. Swipe left and tap on the trash icon to delete the file.

Do photos stay on iCloud if deleted from iPhone?

According to Apple, deleted photos and videos will be stored in your account for 30 days (technically, they are moved to the Recently Deleted album). … Yes, those files disappear from your iCloud Photo Library after 30 days, no longer showing up in the Recently Deleted album either on synced devices or on icloud.com.

Why do I keep getting iPhone backup failed?

One of the most common reasons why iCloud backups fail is because you don’t have enough iCloud storage space. … To delete something taking up iCloud storage space, tap on it in the Manage Storage settings. Then, tap the Delete or Turn Off button. Once you’ve cleared up some storage space, try backing up to iCloud again.

How do I get my iPhone to stop telling me to backup?

If you don’t want to back up your iPhone and you want this notification to go away for good, open Settings and tap on your name at the top of the screen. Then, tap iCloud -> iCloud Backup and turn off the switch next to iCloud Backup. Finally, tap OK when the confirmation alert appears on the display.

Do I really need to backup my iPhone?

And when you get a new iPhone to replace your old one, there’s one important thing you’ll need: the backup file for your old phone with your data, photos, videos, messages and so on. … Unless you have a good reason not to, backing your phone up is just one of the mundane tasks you have to do as a functioning adult.

What happens if I don’t backup my iPhone?

After all, if you don’t back up regularly, you could lose essential and irreplaceable files. The same is true for your iPhone or iPad. … If you have a problem and need to restore your iOS device, it’s easy to do from an existing backup.

Why is iPhone storage full when I have iCloud?

iCloud is a syncing/mirroring service that syncs all of your data across of your devices making them available to you. If your iPhone storage is full, you will have to remove data. You can also use the ‘Optimize Phone Storage’ feature to reduce the resolution/quality of the photos on the device.

What needs to be backed up on iPhone?

Overall, iCloud backup includes app data, Apple Watch backups, device settings, home screen and app organization, iMessage, text (SMS) and MMS messages, photos and videos, and Apple purchase history for services like music, movies, TV shows, apps, books, and more. Go back to your Apple ID and tap iCloud.

How do I manually backup my iPhone?

How to back up with iCloudConnect your device to a Wi-Fi network.Go to Settings > [your name], and tap iCloud.Tap iCloud Backup.Tap Back Up Now. Stay connected to your Wi-Fi network until the process completes.

How much storage do you need to backup your iPhone?

Tap on Settings > General > Storage & iCloud Backup. Look at Total Storage under the iCloud heading – this should say 5GB. Check the Available Storage, this will be the amount that is available on your account. Keep a note of this as you’ll need to get your device under this limit later on.

How do I free up iPhone backup space?

Choose which apps to back up on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touchGo to Settings > [your name] > iCloud.Tap Manage Storage > Backups.Tap the name of the device that you’re using.Under Choose Data to Back Up, turn off any apps that you don’t want to back up.Choose Turn Off & Delete.

What will I lose if I don’t backup my iPhone?

The backup does nothing to the firmware or iOS – a backup only contains data, not apps, not iOS. If you setup as new, rather than restore from backup, you will lose the following data: Application settings, preferences, and data, including documents. App Store Application data including in-app purchases.