Quick Answer: What Is Access List And Types?

What is IP access list?

Access control lists (ACLs) perform packet filtering to control which packets move through a network and to where.

IP access lists reduce the chance of spoofing and denial-of-service attacks and allow dynamic, temporary user-access through a firewall..

What are the different types of ACL in firewall?

ACL TypesExtended ACLs—Extended ACLs are the main type that you will use. … EtherType ACLs—EtherType ACLs apply to non-IP layer-2 traffic on bridge group member interfaces only. … Webtype ACLs—Webtype ACLs are used for filtering clientless SSL VPN traffic.More items…•

How do I set up an access list?

Configuring Access Control ListsCreate a MAC ACL by specifying a name.Create an IP ACL by specifying a number.Add new rules to the ACL.Configure the match criteria for the rules.Apply the ACL to one or more interfaces.

What are two main types of access control?

There are two types of access control: physical and logical. Physical access control limits access to campuses, buildings, rooms and physical IT assets. Logical access control limits connections to computer networks, system files and data.

What are the two main types of access control list?

What Types of Access Control Lists Are There? There are several types of access control lists and most are defined for a distinct purpose or protocol. On Cisco routers, there are two main types: standard and extended.

What is IP access group?

ip access-group is used to bind an access list to an interface. For example, if you use the following command in interface configuration mode: ip access-group 2 in. it will bind ip access list 2 to the interface to control incoming traffic.

What is difference between standard and extended access list?

A “Standard” ACL allows you to prioritize traffic by the Source IP address. An “Extended” ACL provides greater control over what traffic is prioritized. Extended ACLs can use any or all of the following parameters: Source IP address.

What are the different types of access control lists?

Types of Access Control ListsStandard ACL. An access-list that is developed solely using the source IP address. … Extended ACL. An access-list that is widely used as it can differentiate IP traffic. … ACLs everywhere. ACLs are enforced on each interface, in nearly all security or routing gear. … ACL in order. … Document your work.

What is an access control list and how does it work?

An access control list (ACL) is a table that tells a computer operating system which access rights each user has to a particular system object, such as a file directory or individual file. Each object has a security attribute that identifies its access control list.

What are the 3 types of firewalls?

Three basic types of firewalls —packet filtering, application, and packet inspection—are designed to control traffic flows. The previous descriptions provide general functionality of the operation of these types of firewalls.

What are the main types of ACL?

What Are The Types of ACLs?Standard ACL. The standard ACL aims to protect a network using only the source address. … Extended ACL. With the extended ACL, you can also block source and destination for single hosts or entire networks. … Dynamic ACL. … Reflexive ACL.

What is a standard access list?

ACLs are used to filter traffic based on the set of rules defined for the incoming or out going of the network. … Standard Access-list – These are the Access-list which are made using the source IP address only. These ACLs permit or deny the entire protocol suite.